☜♥☞ Adventures with Tassie ☜♥☞

To enjoy our day to day adventures ~ Come visit my everyday blog by clicking the link above!

●☆● Rating Scale ●☆●

1 through 10... 1 being DO NOT STAY HERE EVER and 10 THIS PARK IS HEAVEN!

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

~ Blackwater River State Park - Holt, Florida ~

Description:  This is a very clean and beautiful campground. The interpretive trails are nice with lots of long bridges for the low areas. There is a couple of small beaches on the river for swimming and just relaxing. There is additional access just down the road a short distance through the public use area. There is a posting to watch for "Gators", but it is Florida after all.  We paid $10 per night (Florida Senior Resident price) plus tax via Reserve America, GREAT price for full hook-ups.  Lots of shade, most sites wide enough for large RV and toad side by side on the level pea gravel. The exceptions are sites 1, 2, and 4, which are smaller and have less shade. Clothes lines are provided along with both a table, fire pit and cooking grill. There is a great playground which has shade too. Most sites have vegetation between them so the seem private also nice spacing between. Sites 5, 6, and 29 have concrete pads for handicapped campers.  There is overnight parking for big rigs or drive in campers in the public use area for $5.33 per night.

>> Pets Welcome
>> Playground
>> Sandy Beach
>> Dump Station
>> Level Gravel Sites
>> Garbage pick-up at site

Directions:  Blackwater River State Park is located 15 miles northeast of Milton, off U.S. 90.
Heading East on I-10, exit 31 (Hwy 87N). Half mile, right turn on Highway 90. Seven miles to town of Harold. Left turn onto Deaton Bridge Road. Three miles to main gate.
Heading West on I-10, exit 45 to town of Holt (blinking light). Left turn onto Highway 90. Approximately 15 miles to the town of Harold. Right turn on Deaton Bridge Road. Three miles to main gate.

Web Site: https://www.floridastateparks.org/park/Blackwater-River

Rate: $20.00 per night plus a state park fee of $6.70 & tax through Reserve America,  Senior Florida resident prices are $10.00.

Date of Stay: June 12th, 2016 (1 night)

Sites: All 30 campsites offer 20/30/50 amp electrical service, water connection, and sewer hook-up. Three of these sites are concrete and enhanced for visitors with disabilities.  A bath-house with hot showers is located between the two camping loops. Campsite amenities include water, electricity (20/30/50 amp), on-site sewer and a bathhouse.

Weather During Stay: Sunny & Hot

Phone/TV/Internet:  Some site can pick up satellite TV and most sites get TV with antenna. 

Elevation/Landscape:  Typical Florida wooded area with Pine trees and scrub oaks.

Lighting/Noise: Nice quiet park

Hiking/Walking/Biking: The terrain, plant communities, and wildlife are highlighted along the park’s two nature trails. Guided walks and programs for park guests are offered seasonally. The Juniper Creek Trail is accessible from the park. This trail is part of the Florida National Scenic Trail and is maintained by Florida Trail Association (link is external) volunteers.

Things to See & Do:  There is a lot to do right in or near the park.  Swimming, Kayaking, Canoeing, Tubing, Hiking, Geocaching, or just plain relaxing.  If you are will to drive about an hour you can go visit Fort Walton Beach on the Gulf of Mexico.

Rating: (8)  This park is really nice and has a great price but it is out in the middle of nowhere and not much to do if you are not a water baby.  However is a clean park.

Have Fun & Travel Safe

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Midessa Oil Patch RV Park ~ Odessa, Texas

Description:  The park offers 133 RV sites, many of which can accommodate pull-thrus and big rigs. Midessa Oil Patch RV Park also offers five rental cabins.  The only problem we found was that the water in this park is not drinkable however they give you cases of water for drinking and cooking (as much as you need). 
Full hook-ups include water, sewer, and 30 & 50 amp electric service, WiFi & Cable TV. 

>> WiFi
>> Cable TV
>> Pets Welcome
>> Playground
>> Pool
>> Pet Playground
>> Laundry
>> Convenience Store
>> Dump Station
>> Propane
>> Pull through sites

DirectionsFrom I-20 Take Exit 126 ~ Follow the Blue Camping Signs!

Web Sitehttp://www.midessaoilpatchrvpark.com/default.asp?file=Home

Rate:  Camping rates are based on two guests. Children age 6 and under are no charge.
Park honors Good Sam Discount
>Basic Water/Electric - Tent only sites Daily - $25.00 >Standard Full Hookup with 20/30 amp Electric Daily - $33.00>Deluxe Full Hookup with 50 amp Electric Daily - $33.00

Date of Stay:  May 18th, 2013 (7 nights)
Sites: Sites are very level pull throughs ~ FHU ~ complete with shady trees, picnic tables, and lots of grass! Wi-Fi wireless Internet service and cable TV hook-ups.  We camped on Site 72...

Weather During Stay: Very warm but the low humidity & wind kept it from feeling to hot

Phone/TV/Internet: Our Verizon MiFi card and phone worked really good.  Also our AT&T phone also had good reception.  We were able to get Satellite TV with our roof top antenna (Direct TV) but the park had cable if you wanted.

Elevation/Landscape:  Some trees and normal Texas vegetation and as level ground as can be...

Lighting/Noise: Park is well lit at night and the noise level is relatively quiet. 

Hiking/Walking/Biking: The Comanche Trail Park features a 3.5 mile paved trail highlighting the unique wildlife and varied bird species. Sherwood Park & Woodson Park both offer family aquatic centers with waterslides, lap pools, and water playgrounds.

Things to See & Do:  Odessa offers plenty of recreation and leisure for visitors. Unique museums include The Presidential Museum, The Permian Basin Petroleum Museum, and even a meteor crater site. Historical sites vary from the World's Largest Jack Rabbit to a replica of the original Stonehenge. Nearby 5 golf courses offer beautiful courses for the pro or novice. The city also features nearly 14 city parks and walking trails, an ideal way to spend an afternoon and enjoy the sunny weather. Tennis courts, ball fields, basketball courts, and volleyball are also available at most of the parks.
Rating: 7.5  Only because we called weeks ahead for a site for 6 weeks and they couldn't seem to put us up for that long even thought there were spaces empty while we were there.  Also the bad water had a little to do with it even though you are pretty much told not to drink the water in any park.  Do you think it could have something to do with all the oil well digging????

Have Fun & Travel Safe

Friday, May 17, 2013

Cactus Rose ~ Mingus, Texas

Description:  I can't even begin to tell you how impressed we were with this wonderful little RV Park that packed a BIG punch.  We had boondocked in a Wally World the night before we got here and was well on our way to our destination Midland, Texas... We decided to look for a park for the night and found this one in our Passport America book.  The owners/managers are Jack and Rhonda Haynes who were very friendly and was there to help you with whatever you needed... We were so relaxed at this RV park we stayed an extra night.

  • 13 Full Hookup Sites (20/30/50/Amp)
  • Most sites are Pull-Thru
  • Clean Restrooms/Showers (Handicapped Accessible)
  • Brand New Laundry Facility (Coin-Op)
  • Western Designed Group Room
  • Large Shaded Patio Areas
  • Lagoon Style Pool w/walk-in beach
  • Barbeque Pits & Picnic Tables
  • Sheriff's Office
  • Music Everywhere (1610 AM)
  • Gift Shop/Texas Souvenirs
  • RV Supplies
  • 5 Tent Sites
  • Wi-Fi
  • On Site Management

  • Directions:  Easy On/Off of I-20 exit 370 in Mingus, Texas.  Park is on the south side of the interstate.

    Web Sitehttp://www.cactusroserv.com/

    Rate: We paid $15 per night (PA discount)

    Date of Stay: May 17th, 2013 ~ 2 nights
    Sites: FHU with 20-30-50 amps ~ The sites solid & level with a cement patio  ~ We stayed on site 14 ~ all sites were nice and most of them pull throughs.

    Weather During Stay: Very warm with a breeze that kept it comfortable enough to sit outside and visit the pool.

    Phone/TV/Internet: We had Verizon phone coverage ~ excellent satellite TV with our roof top antenna (Direct TV) ~ free wifi which was pretty good and some sites have cable TV.
    Elevation/Landscape: Typical Texas terrain with trees and beautiful cactus plants.

    Lighting/Noise:  Even though it is right off of I-20 the night time noise was not bad at all.  The park is well lit.

    Hiking/Walking/Biking: No place to really walk since it is such a small park.

    Things to See & Do
  • Thurber Ghost Town
  • Thurber Historical Association
  • Palo Pinto Lake
  • Tac-Pro Shooting Range
  • Ancient Art Soap Company
  • Dreamer Candles
  • Ranger College
  • Ranger Oil Boom Museum
  • W.K. Gordon Museum
  • Thurber Historical Village

  • Rating:  We loved this park and I am stepping out to say I would rate it a 9.0

    Sit back & enjoy a beautiful sunset
    Have Fun & Travel Safe

    Thursday, August 9, 2012

    Arm of Gold ~ North Sidney ~ Cape Breton ~ Nova Scotia

    Description:  This was an excellent campground and we loved staying here.  We had a great site right on a hill overlooking the lake.  It was centrally located to everything we wanted to see and also is the closest park to the ferry that takes you to NewfoundlandIt is located on a 40 acre site overlooking the beautiful Bras d'Or lake, Nova Scotia's largest lake.  The park has large pull throughs, fully serviced sites, all with 30/50 amp service and most with awesome views.

    Amenities:  FHU 50/30amp, They have a playground for the kids, horseshoes, shuffleboard, firepits, ice, full laundromat and a unique activity center housed in the Big Barn. The center has a large rec hall suitable for groups and caravans, a games room, private whirlpools, kitchenette and an exercise room. Also FREE wifi which worked pretty well.  They also have a RV wash in the campground.

    Directions:  They are located at exit 18 (George's River) 105 Trans Canada Hwy, Little Bras d'Or Cape Brenton

    Web Sitehttp://www.armofgoldcamp.com/home.html

    Rate: prices include tax
    31.95 Tenting site
    36.95 Full service 30 amp
    44.95 Full service 50 amp
    64.95 Camping Cabin

    Date of Stay:  August 9th, 2012 (2 weeks)

    Sites: FHU with 50 or 30 amps ~ The sites are all grassy but solid & level  ~ pull troughs & back in sites are available. 

    Weather During Stay:  We had a lot of great weather while staying here... most beautiful days and very few rainy ones.
    Phone/TV/Internet:  We had Verizon phone coverage ~ excellent satellite TV with our roof top antenna (Direct TV) ~ free wifi which was pretty good.

    Elevation/Landscape:  Grassy with few trees... level area right on the  beautiful Bras d'Or lake

    Lighting/Noise:  Noise was minimal to none and the lighting was excellent... nothing that bothered us or our sleep.

    Hiking/Walking/BikingThe park has a beautiful walking trail that gives a panoramic view of the Bras d'or lake. The trail has several rest areas where one can enjoy the tranquility of the abundant scenery or watch the eagles fishing.

    Things to See & Do: One of the most authentic experiences for a visitor is to attend a ceilidh (pronounced "kay-lee"). These casual musical get-togethers take place in town halls, pubs and barns across the island on any given night and are open to all. There's even Ceilidh Trail - a route along Cape Breton's scenic west coast from the Canso Causeway to the Cabot Trail. Also is the Cabot Trail, The Fortress of Louisbourg, the Miners Museum, Whale Watching, the Amoeba Sailboat, Alexander Gram Bells Museum and much more...

    Rating:  (9.5) We loved this park and highly recommend it....

    Have Fun & Travel Safe

    Wednesday, August 8, 2012

    Scotia Pines Campground ~ Truro, Nova Scotia

    Description:  Scotia Pines is a clean park with lots of beautiful pine trees.  It is a great location for entering and leaving Nova Scotia which is what we used it for.  The office staff was not overly friendly and the sites were adequate. 

  • 30 & 50AMP Pull-through
  • Paved Roads
  • Propane
  • Laundry
  • Cable TV
  • Wireless Internet
  • Swimming Pool
  • Sauna
  • Children's Play Area
  • Walking Trails

  • Directions:  Directions from New Brunswick; Coming from NB, follow route 104 to the junction of route 102. Follow 102 to exit 13, left at stop sign, right at the second traffic light. This is route 2, follow it south for 6 kilometers.
    Web Sitehttp://www.scotiapine.ca/

    Rate: $41 per night and an extra $2 for cable TV which we needed since we were in the trees.  This is a Good Sam park.

    Date of Stay:  July 23rd & August 8th for overnight only

    Sites:  Sites are all pretty much close for big rigs but you can get into the sites and even though they are a little unlevel you can level up.  The 50 amps sites are few but with reservations you will get one but beware the hook-ups could be on the wrong side so if you don't carry extra electric cords & hose you might not reach it.  Ask for hook-ups on drivers side... the sewer is on the correct side.  The hook-up are shared hook-ups.

    Weather During Stay: Sunny and nice
    Phone/TV/Internet: Our Verizon had service here ~ TV was cable (too many trees where we were for satellite ~ They had wifi which we used... not great but OK.

    Elevation/Landscape: Lots of pine trees hence the name Scotia Pines... beautiful grassy areas around park for walking dogs... ground somewhat flat.

    Lighting/Noise:  Not much noise or light at night but during the day if you are near the pool it could get loud with kids.  It did not bother us at all and we were right across from it.  Also there is a train that goes by a couple of times during the night but the noise from it was not a bother to us,

    Hiking/Walking/Biking:  They have good roads for walking and riding bikes

    Things to See & Do:   Bay of Fundy TIDAL BORE !

    Rating: (6)  We thought this park was OK for overnight we just thought it was to close and we didn't like the hook-ups for electric & water being on the wrong side.  It is a good park for entering and leaving Nova Scotia. 

    Have Fun & Travel Safe

    Tuesday, July 24, 2012

    Wayside RV Park ~ Glen Margaret, Nova Scotia (Peggy's Cove)

    Description: As soon as we pulled into this park I was thrilled ~ we are right across the street from a cute little cove.  The people in the office are the owners and they were very friendly... The Old guy who bought this park originally sits outside the office everyday and chats with the guest. 
    Amenities: big rig friendly, coin operated laundromat, hot showers, flush toilets, 2-way and 3-way hook-ups, dump station, on an ocean inlet, ice, fireplaces, woods, free Wi-Fi, Modem hook-up and courtesy phone, Picnic tables.

    Directions:  Follow Hwy 104 to Truro and turn onto Hwy 102. Once past Halifax Stanfield Airport stay on the far right as the road splits (Staying left takes you to Dartmouth, not advised if you are trying to get to us). This will keep you on the 102. Follow this to Halifax and once you pass Costco and Walmart, take the next right to put you on Hwy 103. Go to Exit 5, not 2b. Once to Exit 5, turn left. Travel about 3 kms to the end of the road and turn right at the traffic lights. Drive about 300 metres and turn left at the next set of light to put you on Hwy 333. We are about 15kms down on the left at 10295, which you can count down with the property signs on most driveways.

    Web Sitehttp://www.waysidecampground.com

    RateElectric and Water RV : $30.00, Full Hook-up : $30.00, 50 Amp Full Hook-up EWS : $5.00 more. Stay 6 nights get 7th free also with some restrictions they honor Passport America.
    Date of Stay:  July 24th, 2012 ( 15 nights)

    Favorite Sites:  We stayed on site 148 and even though the hook-ups were on the right side of the coach and the sewer on the left ~ our site was so nice.  We pulled in and could see the cove across the street... We had plenty of hose and power cords to hook up.  They have plenty of sites that are really nice  and on the other end there are 5 pull ins that look right into the cove also.

    Weather During Stay:  We were here for 2 weeks and we had a lot of cool days around mid seventies and night around 59-60 degrees... Perfect in our books... Of course there were a few days of rain and some morning were socked in with a pretty heavy sea fog.  We LOVED it!
    Phone/TV/Internet: Verizon phone worked well ~ We got Satellite with our roof top antenna (Direct TV) ~ Internet card did not work here but the parks free wifi worked great where we were parked.
    Elevation/Landscape: Rolling hills with big trees and well manicured lawns. 

    Lighting/Noise:  Some traffic noise at night but nothing that we couldn't live with also the lighting at night was OK... we slept well here!
    Hiking/Walking/Biking:  There are a lot of roads in the park to walk in ~ I am sure there must be hiking trails around but we didn't notice them.  With all the quaint towns around and Halifax we did a ton of walking around them.
    Things to See & Do: Peggy's Cove, Memorial sites for Swiss Air Accident, Many quaint towns and coves, Historic Lunenburg, Halifax, Lighthouses, Mahone Bay, Chester and much more.
    Rating: (9.8)  Even though this park had no pool it was still in our books almost perfect.  The owners made it really nice and the area is just gorgeous.  We were sad to leave here...

    Have Fun & Travel Safe

    Monday, July 16, 2012

    Sun N Shade Campground ~ Borden-Carleton, Prince Edward Island

    Description:  A nice park located right over the Confederation Bridge.  People are very pleasant and will help you with whatever you need or information for things to see & do.  Pull-through sites have no shade at all. Back-in sites have afternoon shade. Wi-Fi works at the office and laundry, but not at the sites. The park is very well maintained. If you like lobster, there is a fresh seafood store right across the street where you can get cooked or fresh lobster at a very reasonable price. Frequent music shows (country, bluegrass, gospel). Paved streets and grass site.  

    Amenities: Cable TV, hot showers, laundromat, dumping station, pay phone, free wireless, camp store, ice, firepits/wood, horseshoes, shuffleboard, bocce ball, ladder golf, pool tables, recreation hall, picnic shelter

    Directions:  It is a couple of miles past the Confederation Bridge on the right

    Web Sitehttp://www.sun-n-shade.com/

    Rate:  We payed 180.00 for the week ~ $30.00 per night for 50 amp FHU ~ Stay 6 nights and the 7th is free.

    Date of Stay:  July 16th, 2012 (7 nights)
    Sites:  Grassy Sites, open/shaded areas, pull-throughs, 20-/30/50-amp service, picnic tables ~ Sites are very close together.

    Weather During Stay:  Perfect weather for the week we spent there with daytime temps in the high 70's and nighttime temps around 55.

    Phone/TV/Internet:  Verizon service for the phone was very good ~ We received Satellite TV with our roof top dish (Direct) ~ Internet wifi provided by the park did not reach our coach but we went to the game room and it worked there just fine.

    Elevation/Landscape:  Pretty much level with lots of grass and the trees and shrubs were common to this area.

    Lighting/Noise:  If there was noise or excessive light we never knew since we were so tired from our daily activities..

    Hiking/Walking/Biking:  Not only can you walk in the park the adjacent Confederation Trail for walking/bicycling is very close.

    Things to See & Do: Lighthouses of PEI, Potato Factory, Cheese Lady Gouda Farm, Toy Factory, Charlottetown,

    Rating: (7) Sites were way to close which we didn't understand since there were so many acres in this park.  However with that being said we still enjoyed ourselves here.  It did fill our needs.

    Have Fun & Travel Safe

    Monday, July 9, 2012

    Marco Pololand ~ Cavendsih, Prince Edward Island, Canada

    Description: When we arrived at Marco Pololand we right away noticed it was definitely a kid friendly park.  We do not have small kids and even though there were a lot of kids they did NOT bother us one bit.  There was so much for them to do here that they were pretty much well behaved.  The park had spacious sites and were fairly level.  The area was beautiful and there is a ton of things in this area to see and do.


  • Three heated swimming pools
  • Games room with ping pong and pool – movies
  • Jumping pillow
  • Supply store
  • Laundromat
  • The Galley Restaurant only open for Sunday brunch and any special events
  • Take out / Dairy bar
  • Pay phones
  • Supervised recreation program
  • Playground on site
  • Hay rides
  • 24-hour supervision
  • ATM machine on site
  • and many bigger events

  • DirectionsFrom the Confederation Bridge:

  • Take route 1 towards Charlottetown (east).
  • After about 20 minutes you will arrive in Crapaud; turn left onto route 13 (north).
  • Route 13 will take you all the way to Cavendish. We are almost at the end of route 13.
  • When heading into Cavendish you cannot miss us, we are on the right side.

  • Web Sitehttp://marcopololand.ca/

    High Season RatesDailyWeekly Monthly
    Electrical (50 amp), Water, Sewer$41.90$251.40 $975.00
    Electrical (30 amp), Water, Sewer$40.00$240.00 $950.00
    Electrical (15 amp), Water, Sewer$38.00$228.00 $900,00
    Electrical, Water$35.00$210.00 $825.00
    All other sites$31.90$191.40 $775,00

    Date of Stay: We stayed here June 9th, 2012 (7 nights)
     Sites:  You have the choice of over 543 sites. There are 343 that offer water, electrical and sewer hookups and over 200 with just water and electricity.

  • No hookup
  • Two-way (water & 15 amp electrical hookup)
  • Three-way (water, 30 and 50 amp electrical, sewer hookup)
  • Some of the 3 way site are pull through sites.

  • Weather During Stay: We had mostly clear beautiful days with highs around 75 and evening lows around 60 ~ perfect in my opinion

    Phone/TV/Internet:  We did have Verizon phone service here at this park ~ We were able to get TV with our Direct roof top satellite ~ They had Wifi but it was just ok

    Elevation/Landscape: Fairly level but set in rolling hills with trees. Lots of beautiful farm lands and fishing villages...

    Lighting/Noise:  We didn't notice much noise or extreme lighting at this park ~ we stayed so busy we slept like rocks at night.

    Hiking/Walking/Biking:  This park is huge and there are alot of places for walking & biking.  Also there are places throughout the Island for hiking.

    Things to See & Do:  Marco Polo Land is in the heart of Cavendish, PEI only 20 minutes from Charlottetown. Cavendish and the North Shore of Prince Edward Island has more activities for you an your family than you will have time to take in. Here are direct links to the best in Cavendish to get your vacation started!  Besides the beach and the many Lighthouses you many things to see & do.
    Avonlea Village of Anne of Green Gables
    Cavendish Beach
    Cheese Lady Gouda Farm
    Site of Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Cavendish Home
    Ripley’s Believe It or Not
    3 Golf Courses
    New Glasgow Lobster Suppers
    Prince Edward Island Preserve Company
    Victoria by the Sea
    World Famous Fisherman's Wharf
    and much more

    Rating: (9.5)  This park has everything you could want except cable TV and it is close to pretty much everything

    Have Fun & Travel Safe

    Monday, June 25, 2012

    Pumpkin Patch RV Resort ~ Hermon (Bangor) Maine

    Description:  The Pumpkin Patch RV Resort provides a quiet and relaxing country atmosphere.  They are within driving distance to many coastal areas including Rockland, Camden, Castine and Bar Harbor. Maine boasts of many more than 60 lighthouses, many of which can be accessed by car.  What a wonderful park this is ~ we decided to stay here 10 days through the 4th of July holiday and it was a great place to be... GREAT electric, cable TV. not to many trees and excellent Wi-Fi.  It is located only a few miles from Bangor Maine which made it nicely located. Not really recommended for children as there is no playground or pool.
    Amenities:  Wi-Fi, Big Rig Friendly, Large lots, Pull thru sites, Shaded & Open sites, Full hook up (20, 30 & 50 Amp), Cable TV, Game Room, Clean showers, Laundry, Central Fire Pit, Picnic Tables , Bocci Ball, Horseshoes, Dump Station,

    Web Sitehttp://www.pumpkinpatchrv.com/

    Rate: They accept Good Sam & Passport ~ Plus stay 6 nights and get one free.  We paid 27 dollars per night with discounts.

    Date of Stay:  June 25th, 2012 (10 nights)

    Favorite Sites:  All the sites are pretty level and very good.

    Weather During Stay:  We had a few days of rain but mostly daytime temps around high 70's and 60 at night.
    Phone/TV/Internet:  Both AT&T and Verizon phones worked however Verizon had a stronger signal.  They have cable TV which was excellent and out Direct TV roof satellite came in excellent.  The Verizon Mi-Fi card works very well here.
    Elevation/Landscape: Nice level terrain with beautiful grass and local plants, flowers and trees
    Lighting/Noise:  Excellent

    Hiking/Walking/Biking:  There are several roads you can walk & ride bikes on
    Things to See & Do:  Interesting places to visit nearby are the Lumberman's Museum, Ft. Knox,
    Leonard's Mills Forest & Logging Museum, Penobscot Marine Museum, Children's Museum, Coles Transportation and Stephen King's home. Sports enthusiasts can enjoy golfing, stock car racing, harness racing, miniature golf and bowling. For those shopaholics we are close to a major mall, flea markets, antique and collectible shops.

    Rating: (9.5)  We loved this park ~ however it did not have a pool which brought the score down a little... We didn't mind that at all.  Would come back here in a heartbeat ♥

    Have Fun & Travel Safe

    Monday, June 18, 2012

    Mount Desert Narrows RV Park ~ Bar Harbor, Maine

    Description:  This park is right on Bar Harbor and really close to all of the sight seeing activities. Bar Harbor is a great little town with wonderful shops and restaurants.  Then you have Acadia National Park to explore ~ you can get 11 Passport stamps for your National Park book when visiting here.  The Campground host were very friendly and helped you with whatever you needed while here.  Not menton the GREAT Lobstha dinners.  Go to Trenton Lobster Pound they are the best!
  • Water, sewer, 30-50 amp electric
  • Laundry Facility
  • Heated Pool
  • Well-stocked resort store, propane, wood, ice

  • Directions:  Take Interstate 95 to Bangor. Take Exit 182A (formerly Exit 45A) to Interstate 395 East. Take Route 1A South, to Ellsworth. Continue on Route 1A through Ellsworth. Route 1A will become Route 3 East when you cross Main St. Stay in right lane and continue for about 10 miles. After crossing a short bridge onto Mt. Desert Island, go left at the fork (towards Bar Harbor). Go for about a mile and watch for Mt. Desert Narrows Camping Resort on the left.

    Web Sitehttp://www.rvonthego.com/Mount-Desert-Narrows.html

    Rate:  We paid $52.00 per night with no discounts

    Date of Stay: April 18th, 2012 (7 nights)

    Favorite Sites:  We stayed on site  148
    Narrows Premium for 38' and over, pull through,Water, 20/30 or 30/50 Amp Electric, Sewer, Cable TV & Telephone. 50 amp by request if available. Please specify if you need 50 amp. Rates are based on 2 adults and 2 children. with Fire Ring & Picnic Table

    Weather During Stay: We had mixed weather ~ some rainy and some sunny with cool temps around 68*

    Phone/TV/Internet: Verizon Mi-fi card worked but was not excellent ~ Both AT&T and Verizon worked, Verizon just a little better ~ we had a tree so no Satellite reception but they had GREAT cable TV.
    Elevation/Landscape:  The campground had some hilly areas and some sites were unlevel ~ trees were pretty much scattered throughout the park and the landscape was very nice.
    Lighting/Noise: Average ~ we had no problems sleeping at night.
    Hiking/Walking/Biking:  The park is huge so there is a lot of walking or biking throughout the park ~ Also with Acadia National Park just a short ways down the road there are a ton of hiing trails there.
    Things to See & Do: Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, Thunder hole, Bar Harbor, Canary Islands, Whale Watching, Boat Tours of the Lighthouses and Mansions, Fishing, Boating,
    Rating:   (8.5)  We enjoyed out time at this park and would have given it a higher rating but site was unlevel and tree was in way of satellite reception however people working here were VERY nice and the park is very clean.

    Have Fun & Travel Safe